Soft Lightning

 

It was in the middle of the night. It was one of those moments where I was not trying to sleep, but I was letting my eyes stay open. I was staring into the darkness, listening to the steady pitter – patter of the rain.

 

Suddenly, a flash caught my eye. It was a flicker of white against the orange sky, not an intimidating bolt. Could there really be lightning in this quiet weather? I waited for the thunder to come, but all I could hear was that same, steady, soft, drip – drop of the rain. I was tired, but I crawled up to the window.

 

Another flicker caught my eye. It suddenly occurred to me how special this was, how fascinating, that the sky could flicker. That nature could bring a bright spark. That it could be shocking, or peaceful. That the sky could go from orange to white to orange again, all in a flash. That a girl could stare out her window in the peaceful nighttime, marveling at this quiet lightning, absorbing its wonder. That that girl was me.

by Aria

One thought on “Soft Lightning

Leave a Reply

